Barcode Introduction > ITF-14
Overview of ITF-14
ITF is abbreviated form "Interleaved Two of Five". In fact, ITF-14 is an implementation of GS1 standard based on Interleaved 2 of 5 barcode specification. This barcode type is also known as UPC Shipping Container Symbol ITF-14, ITF14, Case Code, UPC Case Code, EAN/UCC-14, EAN-14, UCC-14, DUN-14, GTIN-14, UCC-12, and EAN/UCC-13.
ITF-14 is designed to mark cartons, cases, or pallets. Besides, it is widely used for shipping industry or packaging levels of product by manufacturers and distributors.
Generation of ITF-14
ITF-14 Generator for .NET - NET Barcode Library for ITF-14 generation in Windows and Web Applications

ITF-14 Generator for Winforms - .NET Barcode Control for ITF-14 generation in .NET Winforms, C#.NET and VB.NET

ITF-14 Generator for ASP.NET - NET Barcode Component for ITF-14 creation in ASP.NET Web Applications, IIS

ITF-14 Generator for Java - Java Barcode SDK Library for making ITF-14 barcode image in Java

ITF-14 Generator for Word - Create ITF-14 in MS Word with ITF-14 barcode Add-in for word

ITF-14 Generator for Excel - Excel Barcode Plugin for ITF-14 printing in MS Excel
Structure of ITF-14
ITF-14 is a continuous barcode. Each symbol character of ITF-14 comprises five bars (dark bars) and 5 spaces (light bars). Those five bars are made of two wide bars and three narrow bars.
ITF-14 is constructed of 7 parts: starting & stopping quiet zone, start & stop pattern, logistic variant, product number and a check digit.

Bearer Bar

ITF-14 barcode symbol has a unique Bearer Bar that is usually mandatory. But for some specified applications, it can be removed. And there are two reasons for implementing this bearer bar. One is to equalize the pressure exerted by the printing plate over the entire surface of the symbol. And the other is to enhance reading reliability. When a skewed scanning beam enters the barcode symbol through its top or bottom edge, this bar can help reduce the probability of misreads or short scans.

Quiet Zone

Quiet Zone is a white space surrounding the ITF-14 barcode image, which is able to protect the ITF-14 symbol. You may set quiet zone of left, right, top, and bottom according to your needs with KeepAutomation ITF-14 barcode generators.

Start and Stop Pattern

Start and Stop Pattern is an indicator to show the beginning and ending of the data sequence respectively, which is necessary for producing a valid ITF-14 barcode.
Encodable Data of ITF-14
ITF-14 is a numeric barcode, which is able to encode 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9. Each ITF-14 contains 14 digits which can be divided into five parts: digit 1 (packaging indicator), digits 2-3 (number system), digits 4-8 (manufacturer number), digits 9-13 (item number) and digit 14 (check digit).

Packaging Indicator

Packaging Indicator, also called Logistic Variant, is the first digit of the ITF-14 barcode. It is used to distinct package type.

Number System

0 UPC code of contents differs from case code
1 More than each and below inner packs
2 Alternative for 1
3 Inner packs
4 Alternative for 3
5 Shipping containers (cartons)
6 Alternative for 5
7 Pallet
8 Reserved by Uniform Code Council for future use
9 Variable quantity content

Product Number

Product Number consists of three parts: an UPC numbering system or EAN prefix represented by the 2nd to 3rd digit, a Manufacturer identification number represented by the 4th to 8th digit, and an Item identification number represented by the 9th to 13th digit.

Check Digit

ITF-14 barcode has a mandatory check digit, which may be calculated on Modulo 10 algorithm that uses single-digit Arabic numerals 0-9 to represent. The checksum calculation is similar to UPC-E Checksum Calculation.